Shwet's Sizzling Wok

A foodie's delight

Mushroom Pulav

on March 19, 2013

I am a great lover of mushrooms, I can have it all day long, for breakfast, lunch, dinner, anytime, anywhere 😀

Mushroom biryani has been on my list for quite sometime now, I was sitting in office and imagining of having some lovely hot biryani with cool cucumber raitha for dinner.. 😛 , I had picked some mushrooms 2 days back from the store.. so now it was time to satisfy my craving for mushroom biryani, I went through some recipes, didnt find anything that good so decided to do on my own, just had a brief glance of some ingredients from the recipe and I was all set, and guess what ?? In 1 hour, my delicious biryani was ready, My hubby relished it to the core 😀 and I was beaming with happiness.. 🙂

I gave it the name of mushroom pulav, because I didnt make gravy and rice separate as we do in a biryani, I did the process in the cooker

Ingredients 

  • Button mushrooms,quartered : 15-20 medium
  • Basmati rice,soaked : 1.5cups
  • Bay leaf : 1
  • Cloves : 4
  • Green cardamoms : 2
  • Black cardamoms : 2
  • Cinnamon : 1 inch piece
  • Salt : to taste
  • Ghee : 2tbsp
  • Onions,thinly sliced : 2 medium
  • Ginger paste : 2 teaspoons
  • Garlic paste : 2 teaspoons
  • Red chilli powder : 2 teaspoons
  • Coriander powder : 1 tablespoon
  • Black peppercorns,crushed : 1/2 tablespoon
  • Cumin powder : 1/2 teaspoon
  • Turmeric powder : 1/2 teaspoon
  • Tomatoes,pureed : 2 medium
  • Skimmed milk yogurt,whisked : 1/2 cup
  • Garam masala powder : 1/2 teaspoon
  • Fresh coriander leaves,finely chopped : 1/4 cup
  • Fresh mint leaves,torn : 1/4 cup

Method

  • Make a paste of coriander leaves and mint leaves, set aside
  • Heat ghee in the cooker, Add bay leaf, cinnamon, cardamom, peppercorns, cloves and sauté for a min.
  • Add the sliced onions and sauté till translucent.
  • Add the ginger and garlic pastes and sauté for another minute.
  • Now add the pureed tomatoes, turmeric powder, red chilli powder, coriander powder and cumin powder, Cook on a high heat for 3 min.
  • Add the whisked yoghurt, paste of mint and coriander leaves and cook for another 2 min.
  • Add the mushrooms and the garam masala, sauté for 3 min.
  • Add the rice, 2 cups of water, salt and mix well. Pressure cook for 1 whistle
  • Serve hot with cool cucumber raitha 🙂

Leave a comment

GlumeGlutton

Food and Lifestyle Blogger !!

Sharmis Passions

A foodie's delight

Rak's Kitchen

A foodie's delight

Authentic Food Delights

A foodie's delight

Sano's CookBook

Cooking is an evergreen and immortal art to me

Kudpiraj's Garam Tawa

A foodie's delight

Ria's Collection

A foodie's delight

Geeths Dawath

A foodie's delight