Shwet's Sizzling Wok

A foodie's delight

Dry Fish Chutney

on February 25, 2016

This one’s an absolute Mangalorean delight !! I was and I am quite addicted to it since childhood, πŸ˜€ I remember one of the friend’s of my dad used to get it for me often coz I like it πŸ™‚ It is best served with Ganji (boiled rice porridge) But I prefer to have it with my good old curd rice πŸ˜€ Comfort meal for me, Oh yes, along with mango pickle of course πŸ˜‰

I had a packet of dried anchovy with me, I normally make curry out of it, following my mom’s recipe, This time I thought I would try the chutney and to my surprise it was bang on !!! So very tasty, πŸ™‚ Guess am gonna end up preparing it often, as I hubby loved it so much πŸ˜‰ So here’s the recipe, Hope you enjoy it too.

Ingredients

  • Dried Anchovy – 100 gmsΒ (or you can use dried shrimps too)
  • Shallots – 6 (sliced)
  • Garlic cloves – 8
  • Curry leaves – About 8-10
  • Kashmiri red chillies – 15
  • Salt as per taste
  • Coconut grated – 1 cup
  • Peppercorns – 1/2 tsp
  • Tamarind – a small gooseberry sized ball
  • Coconut oil – to deep fry

Method

  • Wash the anchovy well to remove the excess salt and pat them dry.
  • Now, deep fry the anchovies for a min until their crisp and drain on an absorbent towel.
  • In another pan, Dry fry all the ingredients one by one separately and set asideΒ (Shallots, garlic, grated coconut, peppercorns, red chillies, curry leaves)
  • Let all the ingredients cool, and then in a food processor grind everything, ie: anchovies and the dry fried ingredients to a coarse paste along with tamarind. Adjust the salt and store in an air tight container. It stays fresh upto a week.
Leave a Reply

GlumeGlutton

Food and Lifestyle Blogger !!

Sharmis Passions

A foodie's delight

Rak's Kitchen

A foodie's delight

Authentic Food Delights

A foodie's delight

Sano's CookBook

Cooking is an evergreen and immortal art to me

Tickling Palates

Indian Food Blog on Vegetarian and Vegan Recipes from India and around the World

Kudpiraj's Garam Tawa

A foodie's delight

Ria's Collection

A foodie's delight

Geeths Dawath

A foodie's delight

Edible Garden

Simple, Delicious, Everyday Recipes

