Shwet's Sizzling Wok

A foodie's delight

Prawns Pickle

on December 19, 2012

This one’s my hubby’s favorite, Frankly speaking I never have any experience in preparing pickles. I had seen my granny preparing all kinds of finger-licking pickles, yummmy.. And always wanted to do so.

I first tasted prawns pickle when I was in 8th grade and It was a home-made one given by a friend. After that I went in search of prawn pickle in every other supermarket, But never liked any of it as much as the home-made one.

When I came to Dubai, I came across this awesome recipe and decided to give it a try not bothering much about the outcome. The recipe turned out to be super-hit and I was delighted 🙂

This recipe is very special to me.

Ingredients

Prawns – 1kg (small prawns taste even better, however I was not able to find small prawns here)
Red chillies (kashmiri) – 40
Fenugreek seeds – 2tsp
Cumin seeds – 3tsp
Turmeric powder – 1tsp
vinegar – 1.5 cups
Mustard oil – 4tbsp
Garlic, sliced – 1/2 cup
ginger, sliced – 1/4 cup
Green chillies, sliced 20
salt

Method
Grind the red chillies, fenugreek and cumin seeds with salt and enough vinegar to make a fine paste.
Rub salt and turmeric powder on to the fish.
Deep fry the fish in oil till crisp and drain.
In the same oil, fry garlic, ginger and green chillies to a golden color.
Add the masala paste and fry till oil separates. Add rest of the vinegar and bring to boil, mix in the fish. Boil till almost dry. Cool and bottle.

If refrigerated, Pickle can come good for more than a week.

Leave a Reply

GlumeGlutton

Food and Lifestyle Blogger !!

Sharmis Passions

A foodie's delight

Rak's Kitchen

A foodie's delight

Authentic Food Delights

A foodie's delight

Sano's CookBook

Cooking is an evergreen and immortal art to me

Tickling Palates

Indian Food Blog on Vegetarian and Vegan Recipes from India and around the World

Kudpiraj's Garam Tawa

A foodie's delight

Ria's Collection

A foodie's delight

Geeths Dawath

A foodie's delight

Edible Garden

Simple, Delicious, Everyday Recipes

